36 Comments
Aug 11, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

65 koufax, too many tops and up against the wall card flipping competitions as a 7 year old! I destroyed the entire set, which I still have minus the Neikro rookie card.

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like you put Sandy to good use, at least. Is there a story behind the missing Niekro?

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

1963 Topps Pete Rose [rookie] - that was the holy grail of cards when I was a kid, and I had one in really good shape. Not sure why I traded or sold it!

Expand full comment
author

It was the holy grail for us mortal when I was a kid, too (behind Mantle). Sounds like you don't remember exactly what happened to yours -- wonder what you got in return?

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

I sold most of my collection around 1990 [which wound up being a good time to do so looking back], but I know the Rose rookie was already gone. I probably just flipped it for some ca$h [I worked at a sports card/hobby store]... Would be awesome to still have that + many others, but I did manage to keep a few cool cards at least...

Expand full comment
author

Those were fun years in the hobby. Like you said, at least you kept some of your collection!

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

When I was young we would all use Rodger Maris cards on our bicycle spokes

Expand full comment
author

Bike spokes ate so many cards! Why did you pick on Roger in particular?

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Red Sox fan

Expand full comment
author

That would do it!

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

61 Mantle. Gave it to a friend because I hated the Yankees.

Expand full comment
author

At least it was for a good reason!

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Nolan Ryan rookie card, Topps with Jerry Koosman. Attached it with a clothes pin to my bike spokes to make noise. Now that I know, it wasn’t worth the noise it made!

Expand full comment
author

Expensive sound effects!

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

On the ‘59 Topps Killebrew, I just trimmed one side on all Senators cards to fit all my ‘59’s in one cigar box. Ouch! Marty Parsons

Expand full comment
author

Ouch for sure.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

1959 Mickey Mantle. It was the earliest Mantle card I ever owned. Back in the day, we played with our cards like they were toys. Heck, they only cost a penny a piece.

Expand full comment
author

Yep, they were definitely toys (at best). My dad was buying cards a bit earlier, in the early 50s, and he loves to regale me with tales about buying the Topps gum in about 1952 and throwing away the rest of the "packaging" -- baseball cards included.

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Oh, Lord. That makes me want to cry.

Expand full comment
author

Yep

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

My brother collected 1980 and 1981 baseball cards. He glued them into scrap books.

Expand full comment
author

I hear that's the only way you can keep Rickey from stealing a base. :)

Expand full comment

1982 Topps Ripken rookie. I think I sat on it at one point, and he also autographed it in ballpoint pen. Oops.

Expand full comment
author

Ha! A double whammy. Sounds like a well-loved card, though.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Haha a 1990 Frank Thomas NNOF, it didn't get protected in a screwdown case until a long time after it was pulled, and the screwdown it ended up in isn't exactly a good idea.

Expand full comment
author

When I got into the hobby hot and heavy in the mid-1980s, that's how you could identify a *really* good card -- the screwdown ... or the damage it wrought. lol

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Taken better care of my 1974 #1 Hand Aaron. Still a presentable card but I rubber banded my cards. I was ten years old. Didn't even know about plastic card pages at the time.

Expand full comment
author

I rubber-banded my '81, so luckily nothing as good as that Aaron got nicked. Still, those dings add "character," right?

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

I still have the card as part of my set. Would not part with it. Marked checklists too. Character and a story to go along with it.

Expand full comment
author

Can't beat that combo.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Kobe Bryant Rookie Card.

Expand full comment
author

Iconic.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Not trimmed 1959 Harmon Killebrew.

Expand full comment
author

Ouch. Did you cut all the way down to the circle?

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

1971 Topps Roberto Clemente- I should have placed it in plastic!

Expand full comment
author

That's a great card! Tough borders, for sure.

Expand full comment