29 Comments
Aug 5, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Yes. I pulled a Gibson RC back in 1959. I eventually built a complete set of ‘59 Topps.

Expand full comment
Aug 6, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Damn I'm jealous !!

Expand full comment
author

That's awesome!

Expand full comment
Aug 5, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

First card - 1955 Roy Campanella that I still treasure. Close second is my Rookie Duke Snider. And I HATE the Dodgers as a lifelong Giants fan !!

Expand full comment
author

So your love of great cardboard outweighs your hatred of the Dodgers. Pretty neat! At least Duke played for your Giants at the end of his career.

Expand full comment
Aug 6, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

I don't know about that. I have the memory of Roseboro/Marichal tattooed in my memory.

Expand full comment
Aug 5, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

as a fan only 1970. As a trader/collector 1977

Expand full comment
author

You got to see some great teams/dynasties in your early fandom -- A's, Reds, Dodgers, Yankees, etc. -- must have been fun!

Expand full comment
Aug 6, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Grew up in the Bay Area and lives the A's dynasty. Can still name the starting 8. Was a big Joe Rudi fan

Expand full comment
author

He was/is underrated.

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

1969

Expand full comment
author

You had a shot at the last Mantle card!

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

1954. Yep my Mom threw out my Mickey Mantle card when we left Ohio for California.

Expand full comment
author

Ouch! At least you got some sunshine out of the deal, I guess.

Expand full comment

1980

Expand full comment
author

Just in time for Rickey!

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Marty Parsons. 1959.

Expand full comment
author

Wonder if you pulled a Bob Gibson rookie card back then?

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

1981

Expand full comment
author

Same year I got my first cards -- hated them. lol By 1983, though, I was hooked.

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

1968-69

Expand full comment
author

You got to see a lot of repeat photos right off the bat. Topps was shy about reusing pics back then.

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

1957

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

I am interested in HOF Rookie Cards in the NFL

Expand full comment
author

Cool. You have a favorite player or card?

Expand full comment

I started in 1957. I bought a lot of old cards by snail mail. The dealers name was Nagy. I was looking through some of my old correspondence with him, (Yeah, I kept everything.) and I discovered I had a 2$ credit with him. Back then you could buy any old card from the 50's for around a nickel, even stars. The kicker is I still have 95% of my old cards. I collected until 1966 when I went into the Army.

Expand full comment
author

Was it Frank Nagy? SCD did a piece on him several years ago (link below). Thanks for sharing those great memories!

https://sportscollectorsdigest.com/auctions/mastro-mentor-nagy-left-a-hobby-legacy-far-beyond

Expand full comment
Aug 4, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Yes, it was Frank Nagy. He was THE MAN to buy old cards from back then. Those were wonderful times. I hated Mickey Mantle because he was a Yankee. I traded every Yankee card I got in a pack of gum to my friend across the street. He was a big Yankee fan. Our minor league team was the Ft. Worth Cats. At the time they were a farm club of the Dodgers, so the Bums were my favorite team. Being ten years old in 1957, I thought the Duke hung the moon. Got to see him play in LA in 1960. That day is in the Top Five days of my life.

Expand full comment
author

That must have been an incredible experience for you! What great memories.

Expand full comment