7 Comments
Sep 4, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

I'm still angry at the companies behind the "junk wax" act of greed so, despite loving my Topps cards from the 50's and 60's I will not miss the company itself. I really doubt that the days of card collecting just for the hobby itself and hoping to leave a nice remembrance for our descendants will ever return. Meanwhile, I still joyfully seek affordable RC's for Aaron and Mathews to finish out my MILWAUKEE Braves collection.

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

It was pretty shady what fantactics did, but I will always be a Topps guy

Expand full comment
author

The money involved is pretty mind-blowing, so I guess a reminder that it really is a business at the top of the industry/hobby. Like you say, though, Topps will live on at least in memory and old cards, even if the brand disappears from the new-card scene.

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

Topps old cards will be worth more when Topps goes away, and 1st year fanatics will be hot collectibles.

Expand full comment
author

It will definitely be interesting to watch it play out. I think you're right about both companies getting a lot of interest as the transition takes place.

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Baseball Briefs

yes.

Expand full comment
author

I think you're probably right.

Expand full comment